LSM Newswire

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Sept. 26: Music for a Sunday Afternoon begins with cellist Lynn Harrell

Music for a Sunday Afternoon 09-10 begins on SATURDAY, Sept. 26 with violinist Pinchas Zukerman, cellist Lynn Harrell, pianist Angela Cheng and musicians of the NAC Orchestra

Ottawa, Canada – The first Music for a Sunday Afternoon chamber music concert of the National Arts Centre Orchestra season takes place on SATURDAY, September 26 and features solo cello followed by a chamber quartet. Famed American cellist Lynn Harrell has the first half to himself, performing Bach’s Suite for Cello Solo No. 3 in C major. In the second half a stellar quartet made up of NAC Orchestra Music Director Pinchas Zukerman on violin, principal cello Amanda Forsyth, associate principal viola Jethro Marks and guest pianist Angela Cheng performing Brahms’ Piano Quartet No. 2 in A major. This concert takes place on Saturday, September 26 at 2 p.m. in the Auditorium of the National Gallery of Canada.

Bach’s six Suites for Solo Cello are extraordinary compositions in many ways. Unaccompanied music for this instrument was practically unknown in Bach’s day. They date from about 1720, when he was working for Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Cöthen. They were published as early as 1825, but remained in obscurity until Pablo Casals revived them in the early 20th century. Thanks to Casals, they are now recognized as masterpieces of the genre, and today rank among the pillars of every cellist’s repertoire.

If Schubert’s final, C-major symphony (The Great) justly deserves Robert Schumann’s epithet “the symphony of heavenly length,” then Brahms’s Second Piano Quartet equally deserves the title in the realm of chamber music. Lasting about 45 minutes in performance, it unfolds in a leisurely manner, brimming with hummable themes and ardent lyricism.

Tickets for Music for a Sunday Afternoon on Saturday, September 26 are on sale now at $29.00 (GST and Facility Fee included) at the NAC Box Office (Monday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.), and through Ticketmaster (with surcharges) at 613-755-1111. Ticketmaster may also be accessed through the NAC’s website at They may also be purchased at the National Gallery one hour before the concert

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home