LSM Newswire

Sunday, November 7, 2010

CCC Toronto International Piano Competition Chooses Three Finalists

Performance with Orchestra November 8




Toronto, November 7, 2010…Three men have been selected as finalists in the first CCC Toronto International Piano Competition. They were chosen after performances by six semi-finalists at the P.C. Ho Theatre of the Chinese Cultural Centre of Greater Toronto, which is presenting the Competition.

Finalists (with concerti in parentheses) are:

Vakhtang Kodanashvili, 32, originally of the Republic of Georgia, now living in South Bend, IN (Tchaikovsky: Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor)

Jiayan Sun, 20, of China, currently studying in New York (Prokofiev: Concerto No. 2 in G minor)

Kirill Zvegintsov, 27, of Ukraine, currently living in Bern, Switzerland (Ravel: Concerto in G)

Each will perform a piano concerto with the Toronto Concert Orchestra and conductor Kerry Stratton, Monday, November 8, 7:30 p.m. at the Royal Conservatory’s Koerner Hall, 273 Bloor St. W. Tickets, $25-35, are available from (416) 408-0208 or

At the conclusion, the distinguished jury will name the winners, who will be presented $28,000 U.S. in prizes. The first-prize winner receives $15,000 U.S. along with orchestral and solo concert engagements. Second prize is $8,000 U.S., and third, $5,000 U.S.

The event will also stream in live video at More info may be found on the website.


The first CCC Toronto International Piano Competition attracted over 100 DVD entries from 25 countries. From these, 25 pianists from 10 countries were invited to compete – with 20 arriving for the first two rounds, November 2-5 at the P.C. Ho Theatre.

Chaired by Yoheved Kaplinsky of the Juilliard School, the jury comprises Marc Durand, Université de Montréal and the Banff Centre’s 2010 Piano Master Class program; Marietta Orlov, University of Toronto, and the Royal Conservatory’s Glenn Gould School; Richard Dyer, former chief music critic of the Boston Globe; John Giordano, jury chair, Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, and music director emeritus of the Fort Worth Symphony; Yong Hi Moon, Peabody Institute of Music; and Arie Vardi, Hochschule für Musik in Hannover, Tel Aviv University, and chair, Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition.

Honorary advisors are Peter Simon, President of the Royal Conservatory, Toronto; James Anagnoson, Dean of the Royal Conservatory’s Glenn Gould School; world renowned pianist Dang Thai Son, and Prof. David Beachof the University of Toronto and Royal Conservatory.

Artistic Directors are solo and duo pianists Lang Ning Liu and Lu Wang (Juilliard Duo). Competition President isDr. Ming-Tat Cheung, Chairman and President of the Chinese Cultural Centre (CCC) of Greater Toronto since 1989. Dr. Dong-Dong Dong is the Vice-President of the Competition.

In addition to support from major sponsors Rolex Canada Ltd., Philip Leong and Downtown Fine Cars Group, the Competition is supported by a Celebrate Ontario grant. Sponsors for the Competition pianos are the Piano & Keyboard Centre and Yamaha Canada. The University of Toronto and The Royal Conservatory are major collaborators.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home