LSM Newswire

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Ben Chaisson: honured with this year's 30th anniversary Pauline McGibbon Award

Ben Chaisson
honoured with this year's 30th anniversary
Pauline McGibbon Award

Toronto, June 27, 2011 - Sound and projection designer Ben Chaisson is the 2011 recipient of the Pauline McGibbon Award. The award presentation took place today at the Dora Mavor Moore Awards at Toronto's St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts. This year marks thirty years since the award was established.

About the recipient:
o Ben Chaisson is a Toronto-based sound and projection designer. As the resident designer for Wyrd Productions, his work includes design for Into the Ring, Bigger than Jesus and HARDSELL.
o Ben has consulted widely on theatrical projection as well as interactive technologies, and designed for numerous theatres, arts organizations and educational institutions in Ontario, and across Canada. Some of his recent collaborations include Tafelmusik's Galileo, Soulpepper Theatre's Travesties and Daniel Brooks' The Eco Show, for which his projection design received national acclaim.
o He has previously been nominated for several awards, including two Dora Mavor Moore Awards in 2005 for his sound and set design work; Betty Mitchell Awards for sound and set design respectively in 2006, and again for a Betty Mitchell Award in 2010 for sound work for The Highest Step in the World.

The 2011 jury noted: "Ben's work is exciting and groundbreaking. Projection is a new stagecraft and Ben is definitely on the leading edge of what's happening in Canada. He brings creativity and sensitivity to the work, and his projections lend a unique character to every production."

"Artists like Ben reflect the unique talent and innovation that Ontario's artists continue to bring to Canadian and international stages. Congratulations to Ben Chaisson on this important achievement," said Tourism and Culture Minister Michael Chan.

About the Pauline McGibbon Award:

o Established in 1981, the award honours former Lieutenant Governor Pauline McGibbon for her support and patronage of the arts. The award is given each year by the Province of Ontario through the
Ministry of Tourism and Culture and includes a $7,000 prize and a medal designed by Dora de Pédery-Hunt.
o The award is presented to a member of Ontario's professional theatre community in the early stages of his or her career who has displayed a unique talent and a potential for excellence.
o The award is cyclical in nature and recognizes the unique talents of artists who have contributed to the well-being of Ontario's theatre community. The first year of the three-year cycle, the award goes to a designer, the second year to a director and the third year to a production craftsperson.
o The award is administered by the
Ontario Arts Council.
o Past recipients of the Pauline McGibbon Award include the following designers: Michelle Ramsay (2008); Kimberly Purtell (2005) and Andjelija Djuric (2002). Access the full list of laureates
o This year's jurors were: William Chesney (Guelph); Andjelija Djuric (Toronto) and Kevin Lamotte (Niagara-on-the-Lake); ahdri zhina mandiela (Toronto) and Peter McBoyle (Stratford).

The Ontario Arts Council (OAC) is the province of Ontario's primary funding body for professional arts activity. Since 1963, the OAC has played a vital role in promoting and assisting the development of the arts and artists for the enjoyment and benefit of Ontarians.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home