LSM Newswire

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

The Cleveland Orchestra performs “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” program at the Blossom Festival on August 7

Sunday, August 7, at 7 p.m.: English-born conductor Bramwell Tovey (music director of the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra) makes his debut with The Cleveland Orchestra in a program featuring selections from Felix Mendelssohn’s Incidental Music to Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream and Max Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 featuring Latvian violinist Baiba Skride (BYE-bah SCREE-day), in her Cleveland Orchestra debut. Tovey also serves as principal guest conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic at the Hollywood Bowl and has presided as host and conductor of the New York Philharmonic’s Summertime Classics series at Avery Fisher Hall since the series began in 2004. BBC Music Magazine has commented that “Baiba Skride might be viewed as a throwback to the golden age of Heifetz, Kreisler and Milstein … she has a way of speaking naturally through her violin which instantly engages the listener’s emotions.” The program also includes Richard Strauss’s Don Juan and George Enescu’s Romanian Rhapsody No. 1.

To watch Bramwell Tovey interviewed by Eugenia Zukerman, click here.

To watch a 2008 video about Baiba Skride, click here.

Concert ticket prices range from $19 to $83.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home