LSM Newswire

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

ISPA Announces Distinguished Artist Award Winners

Karen Kain, Michael Levine and Luc Plamondon

The International Society for the Performing Arts (ISPA) announced the winners of the 2011 Distinguished Artist Awards at its Toronto 2011 Congress, which begins today and wraps up on June 18, 2011. Recipients of the 2011 Distinguished Artist Award are Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada; stage designer Michael Levine; and songwriter Luc Plamondon. The 2011 awards will be presented to the artists beginning at 7:00 PM on Thursday, June 16 at the 25th Gala Awards Dinner at The Carlu in Toronto.

The ISPA Awards are presented annually to performing artists who have made an outstanding contribution of talent, artistry, dedication, and service to the world for performing arts.

David Baile, ISPA’s Chief Executive Officer said, “As a leadership network, ISPA is committed not only to providing leadership development opportunities, but also recognizing excellence in the performing arts globally. The calibre of the nominated artists will make them a welcome addition to the fifty-some artists that have already received ISPA’s Distinguished Artist Award.

Past recipients of ISPA’s Distinguished Artist Award include Akram Khan, the Emerson String Quartet, Gilberto Gil, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, Ravi Shankar, Evelyn Glennie, Van Cliburn, Tan Dun, Laurie Anderson, Pina Bausch, Maureen Forrester, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, and Twyla Tharp, among many others.

The Toronto 2011 Congress gets underway today at 1:30 PM as The Honourable Michael Chan, Minister of Culture and Tourism welcomes delegates at the opening ceremony in the Elgin Theatre. The Minister’s remarks will be followed by a performance by Montreal’s RUBBERBAND Dance Group, and the keynote address by Des McAnuff, Artistic Director, Stratford Shakespeare Festival.

The ISPA Awards are just one of the highlights of the Toronto 2011 ISPA Congress, which is built around the theme of Groundbreaking. The multi-faceted Congress includes topical presentations by leading Canadian and international speakers, artist showcases and Pitch New Works Now — the annual ISPA pitch session. These events will be attended by more than 300 cultural leaders and executives from 30 countries around the world, and the Congress presents a unique opportunity to demonstrate what Toronto has to offer as a vibrant and diverse city of the 21st century.

Full 2011 Toronto ISPA Congress details can be found at

ISPA’s 25th Gala Awards Dinner is sponsored by BMO Financial Group

ISPA was founded in 1949 by Patrick Hayes with a mandate to develop, nurture, energize and educate an international network of arts leaders and professionals, who are dedicated to advancing the field of the performing arts. Today the ISPA network spans over 50 countries and includes more than 350 performing arts leaders.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home