LSM Newswire

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Seven artists share $105,000 in Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Awards

Ottawa, June 22, 2011 – Theatre producer Naomi Campbell, visual artist Osvaldo Ramirez Castillo, dancer and choreographer Yvonne Chartrand, media artist Diane Morin, interdisciplinary artist Nadine Sures, composer Paul Steenhuisen and writer Duncan Thornton are the winners of the 2011 Victor Martyn Lynch‑Staunton Awards administered by the Canada Council for the Arts.

The annual awards, worth $15,000 each, recognize outstanding mid-career artists in the seven disciplines funded by the Canada Council: theatre, visual arts, dance, media arts, integrated arts, music, and writing and publishing. The prizes were created using funds from a generous bequest made by the late Victor Martyn Lynch‑Staunton to the Canada Council. The winners are chosen from the pool of applicants from the Grants to Professional Artists programs during the 2009‑10 fiscal year.

The work of these mid-career artists generates enjoyment, lifetime learning opportunities and contributes to a vibrant culture for all Canadians.

Download images of the winners and their works.

Read the complete news release here or by copying and pasting the following URL into your web browser’s address bar:

Labels: , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home