LSM Newswire

Friday, July 15, 2011

WSO celebrates another strong finish for fourth consecutive year

Winnipeg, MB – July 13, 2011 – The Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra announced during its Annual General Meeting today that it is proud to report an operating surplus of $119,000 for the 2010-2011 season. In addition, as of June 1, 2011, the WSO has eliminated its accumulated deficit.

“Our music director Alexander Mickelthwate, and executive director Trudy Schroeder, along with all their staff and all the musicians of the WSO, have worked tirelessly to achieve this year’s excellent results,” says the WSO Board President and Chair Dorothy Dobbie. “I thank all of the members of the board who gave generously of their time, talents and treasure to preserve and protect the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra. They have made excellent progress in our fundraising and friend-raising efforts, both, and their thoughtful guidance has been an inspiration to me.”

Season highlights include:

  • WSO President and Chair of the Board Dorothy Dobbie will continue her leadership role through the 2011-2012 season.
  • Alexander Mickelthwate’s fifth full season as music director continued to build on his desire for a balanced musical season to both excite WSO audiences and stimulate new ones.
  • Our new theme-based SoundBytes series got a successful launch. This three-concert hosted series offered a stimulating product mix with newly designed scripts by the WSO’s artistic team that included soloists, visual elements and fascinating archival material.
  • The WSO New Music Festival celebrated its 20th anniversary. Curated by Alexander and our engaging composer-in-residence Vincent Ho, this year’s festival was among the most successful of all in the WSO’s long-standing internationally recognized series and included composer John Corigliano, percussionist Dame Evelyn Glennie and The Kronos Quartet, among others.
  • The Orchestra travelled to Ottawa for the first time in almost 35 years as part of the Prairie Scene Festival in May at the National Arts Centre and received three warm standing ovations following their performance with Manitoba-born violin virtuoso James Ehnes.
  • The WSO has thanked and celebrated the career contributions of two retiring musicians: Stanley Label, bass & Kathryn Sigsworth, violin.

“The development of a healthy, artistically vibrant, fully engaged and financially stable orchestra is a complex process, and there is not one easy answer for rebuilding and growth,” says WSO Executive Director Trudy Schroeder. “They say that it takes a village to raise a child, and the same concept holds true for the diverse kinds of support needed to sustain and nurture a robustly healthy symphony orchestra in our community.”

The WSO is sincerely grateful for the hard work and dedication of Susan Feldman, Ed Richmond, Lorne Sharfe and Joanne Sigurdson, who will retire from the WSO’s Board of Directors.

Board of Directors, 2011-2012
Dorothy Dobbie, President & Chair
Ed J. Martens
Muriel Smith
Dr. Brendan MacDougall
Marilyn Billinkoff
Tim Burt
Brenlee Carrington-Trepel
Michael Cox
Arlene Dahl
Greg Doyle
Dr. Daya Gupta
Elba Haid
Maureen Kilgour
Jackie Lowe
Lesia Peet
Dr. William Pope
Terry Sargeant
William Shead
Karl Stobbe
Richard Turner

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home