LSM Newswire

Monday, August 18, 2014

Musica Camerata Montréal presents: Discoveries Two Quintets for piano, violin, viola, cello and double-bass Saturday, September 13, 6 PM

Montreal, August 14, 2014 – Musica Camerata Montréal  begins its 45th season in a beautiful way Saturday, September 13, with the concert Discoveries, witch will feature pianist Berta Rosenohl, violinist Luis Grinhauz, violist Bertrand Robin, cellist Leo Grinhauz and double-bassist Eric Chappel.

The first concert of the season presents a program of uncommon quintets for piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass. The best known piece for this combination is Schubert’s “The Trout”, but other great works were also written for the same combination, among others by English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams, one of Britain’s giants, and French pianist and composer Jeanne-Louise Dumont-Farrenc, who lived in France in the 19th century.

The program:

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 – 1958)
Quintet for piano and strings in C minor

Jeanne-Louise Dumont-Farrenc (1804 – 1875)
Quintet no2 for piano and strings in E Major, opus 31

A few words on the composers :

Ralph Vaughan Williams
Vaughan Williams’s style expresses a deep regard and fascination with folk tunes, the variations upon which take the listener from earth (where he always tried to remain in his daily life) to far beyond. Simultaneously the music shows patriotism toward England in the subtlest form, engendered by a feeling for ancient landscapes and for a person's small yet not entirely insignificant place within them. His earlier works sometimes show the influence of Maurice Ravel, his teacher for three months in Paris in 1908. Ravel described Vaughan Williams as the only one of his pupils who did not write music like Ravel.

Ralph Vaughan Williams was a huge bear of a man, but modest and plagued with self-doubts through most of his life. At the time of the composition of the C minor quintet (1903), he had just returned from crossing the Channel for some composition lessons with Ravel. The Frenchman was amazed by Ralph’s prodigious natural talent, declaring that he had little to teach the English bear and pleading with him not to attempt to write music which sounded like Ravel! Ralph took that advice. He didn’t.

Jeanne-Louise Dumont-Farrenc
It would be safe to say that Jeanne-Louise Dumont-Farrenc was to France what Clara Schumann and Fanny Mendelssohn were to Germany. These women had remarkable careers in the 19th century considering that men musicians were favored by society at this time. After studying at the Paris Conservatory, Ms Dumont-Farrenc made her career as a pianist but also taught piano for 30 years (1842-1872) at the Paris Conservatory where she was loved by all.
She was a prolific composer in all genres and her music appeared regularly on concert programs and earned her the praise of musicians the likes of Berlioz. Her romantic style is highly refined. The Piano Quintet Op 31 dates from 1844-45.

Since its creation in 1970, Musica Camerata Montréal offers programs of a rare originality, and has devoted much of its energy to promote the music of Canadian composers. The ensemble has continuously been seeking new repertory and has given the Canadian premiere of many unknown musical works. Musica Camerata Montréal’s repertoire includes more than 350 works from the 18th, 19th, 20th and 21st century. On tour, Musica Camerata Montréal has given concerts in Canada, the United States, Central and South America, always to high critical acclaim.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home